What do the different Tax codes mean?

  • January 13, 2023
  • GST – Goods and Services Tax = The federal sales tax when a provincial sales tax applies or where the government has not agreed with a province for HST to apply.
  • HST – Harmonized Sales Tax = The federal sales tax, when collected in partnership with the Provincial government further to an agreement with the federal government, is also being filed and paid with the GST Remittance.
  • QST – Quebec Sales Tax = The sales tax that is being collected, filed, and remitted in the province of Quebec, with the MRQ – Ministère du Revenu du Québec
  • PST – Provincial Sales Tax = The sales tax is collected, filed, and remitted to the provincial government in British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan.
  • RST – Retail Sales Tax = An old term sometimes used to refer to sales tax in Canada.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter